Call for Nominations for Three Awards: International Glaciological Society

The International Glaciological Society (IGS) Awards Committee announces a call for nominations for three awards: Seligman Crystal, the Richardson Medal, and IGS Honorary Membership nominations.

The Seligman Crystal is awarded for outstanding scientific contribution to the discipline of glaciology.

The Richardson Medal is awarded in recognition of outstanding service contributions to the International Glaciological Society and to the discipline of glaciology.

Honorary Members shall be elected by the Council in recognition of eminent contributions to the objects of the Society, and shall not exceed twelve in number.

Nomination deadline: 19 June 2017.

Nomination packs for the Seligman Crystal and the Richardson Medal should include:

- A nomination letter,
- An abridged curriculum vitae, and
- Three letters of support.

Nominations for Honorary Membership must only include a nomination letter.

Nomination packets should be submitted via email to: Lora Koenig at

Award winners will be announced at the International Symposium on Polar Ice, Polar Climate, Polar Change to be held in Boulder, Colorado 14-19 August 2017.

For more information about each award and how to submit nomination packets, go to:

For questions, contact:
Lora Koenig

  1. awards
  2. glaciology
  3. IGS
  4. nomination

Comments on this entry

There are no comments at this time.

Post a comment

You must log in to post comments.

Please keep comments relevant to this entry. Comments deemed offensive or inappropriate may be removed.