US signs agreement on enhancing international Arctic scientific cooperation

On May 11, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson signed an agreement to promote Arctic scientific cooperation by breaking down barriers to scientific research and exploration.

The signing took place at the 10th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation and the United States are parties to the agreement.

The "Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation" is the product of three years of work by the Arctic Council's Task Force for Enhancing Science Cooperation. The U.S. delegation to the task force, led by the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Office of Polar Programs, represented several U.S. science agencies.

Read more.

  1. Arctic cooperation
  2. Arctic Council
  3. Arctic exploration
  4. Arctic Science
  5. Arctic Science Ministerial
  6. Scientific research

Comments on this entry

There are no comments at this time.

Post a comment

You must log in to post comments.

Please keep comments relevant to this entry. Comments deemed offensive or inappropriate may be removed.